First entry INF506

Social networking -using the online world to create, interact with other people and groups by sharing information, ideas, images. Social networking allows us to connect with many people, creating communities and making friends without being constrained by physical locality.

I admit I haven’t used social networking that much, except for facebook. I have set up several blogs before and then neglected them. I have read/followed others’ blogs, and love reading the Twitter comments on shows like the ABC’s Q&A, but have avoided participating.

From this course, I would like to feel more at ease with using social networking. I feel I have been an ‘observer’ more than a ‘participant’ which isn’t really in the spirit of social networking. Hopefully I will be able to use what I learn at work, but not sure if this will be possible in the immediate future, which is a shame. I think it would make the library more interesting and relevant if we could.  Outside of work there are many possibilities that I would love to embrace –setting up a local history group, reviving my art blog, and generally using the online world to connect with others and share ideas, stories, art, knowledge, etc.

Leave a comment